KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Super-Moderator
'20 890R
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,

Huge thanks to the mods/admins for starting and maintaining this place! - I've been creeping this site for a couple months now and just decided to actually contribute so I created an account.

I'm from Victoria, BC - far west coast of Canada for those not too geographically inclined. :smile:

45 year old Former Club racer of 8 years, now a street rider who rides spirited yet also enjoys the comforts of a naked bike - hence my purchase of a 2019 790 Duke roughly 2 months ago now.

Mods:

- Dunlop Q3+ tires replaced the stockers even before it left the dealership (rode a friends 790, hated them)
- Passenger pegs removed - PP exhaust holder installed.
- bar end mirrors on order - cheapo ebay specials - fingers crossed.
- Ermax tinted screen.
- Ohlins shock - so much more control now.
- Andreani 20mm Misano Cartridge kit in the forks. Also a huge step up from the OEM WP non-adjustable stuff.

In the 2 months I've had I've managed 5000kms (3000 miles) in a mix of 200km Sunday rides and a few multi day road trips.

Up next:

- brake pads - faaaaack the stockers suck - I swapped bikes with my buddy on an '18 1290SD and HOLY CRAP his brakes were like my race bike set up - night and day from the set up on the 790. Hopefully some HH's help out as for daily use they are adequate but I fear in a panic stop scenario I'd be in a world of trouble.

- Also to note - my bike was also one of those with the issue reading the immobilizer when new so the dealer had to swap out my entire setup with another 790 on the floor to get it going issue free when I bought it AND, my counter shaft seal is weeping a little - not too bad but for sure not a proper seal.

Anyways - thanks for having me here!

Lionel

·
Super-Moderator
578 Posts
Welcome, YL. Great input on the suspension. Thanks. How do you like the Q3+ on the Duke?