KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New Forum member here from Australia (will post in new member forum when I purchase)

I have many years riding experience and about to purchase a 790 Duke when I sell my current bike, 2008 Guzzi Breva 1200

I have one question, what RPM does the 790 Duke sit on at 100 kmh (62 mph) ?

Cheers from Oz
Magoo

I'm assuming you are asking about sixth gear. If so, you won't want to ride at that speed in sixth. The engine isn't comfortable under load below about 4500 rpm.

Super-Member
4th gear - about 5500
5th gear - about 5000
6th gear - about 4500

Agreed with GOTJ. I usually stick around in 4th gear at that speed for just rolling down the road. Sometimes I will hit 5th if it's a real steady roll and I am trying to conserve some bit of gas, but I like 4th for that speed. The power is there at a moment. At 4500 RPM. it takes a lot of throttle and a good amount of time to hit that power band. I usually don't even use 6th unless I am over 70 MPH on the highway and cruising.....which all equates to the RPM and where I like to ride.

Premium Member
If I'm sticking to the open road speed limit on straight roads in NZ (100 or 110 km/hr depending on the road), I normally stay in 5th gear for the reasons other posters have mentioned. It's actually less sensitive in Rain Mode if you're just out for a cruise rather than a fang. Welcome to another "mature" rider - I started riding in 1964 :smile_big:

Super-Moderator
Both informational AND educational.

Reactions: J D

Registered