KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
833 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK this one has been playing on my mind a bit.

Dilemma 1 - Engine mount or frame mount.? ----- I prefer (trust) Frame more I think. Seen too many knackered engine castings where threads or bits have "popped"

Dilemma 2 - Steel Bars or pug slider doodad thingies.? ----- I prefer (trust) Bars more I think. This maybe entirely irrational.

Dilemma 3 - What's there and do I like it?

Apart from Chines copies - which (so far) I've discounted because they generally seem to be thinner tube - I've come across

1) R&G - I like it - but I can see something lower front engine that looks wrong - can't explain it.

2) Givi - Major price advantage - The aesthetics are a bit odd.

3) SW-Motech - Simply looks incomplete - no lower engine protection.

4) Hepco and Becker. - Both tube and slider! - weird rear fitting?

Any others out there? - I'm new to KTM parts hunting. Of the above 4 I am more inclined to H&B or Givi. But I am open to all advice here.

This is the last piece of my "MUST HAVE" puzzle.

·
Registered
98 Posts
H&B I have the luggage carrier that replaces the pillion seat.
It's very heavy, I dare to call it bulky. Hopefully is sturdy too: I would expect the crash bars to share the same approach.

·
Registered
179 Posts
This is a good question @barbagris - I have much the same thoughts.

EvoTech make good looking frame mounted crash bobbins that look like the will protect the top half of the bike:
https://evotech-performance.com/collections/all/products/ep-ktm-790-duke-crash-bobbins-2018

These have a bar that goes through the space above / in front of the top of the engine to connect both sides for more rigidity - they connect to two frame mounts on each side of the bike.

Barracuda (and others) make a much simpler (and considerably cheaper) version that's just a single bolt into the frame each side with a bung on each end: