KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
I haven't kept up with what they've been doing in the past couple years but their business practices and after-sales support kinda sucked in the Miata tuning community.

·
Registered
39 Posts
I'd like to see Air/fuel mixture data on this.
For $400 I'd rather get a PC5 from Rottweiler as soon as they get their dyno work done.

I wonder what the risk of the dealer wiping over the map is when you take it in for service or software updates.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It does not make sense to me to buy piggy back devices when the ideal thing to do is reprogram the ECU. It’s all bypassing legal emissions requirements. So why is reprogramming the ECU not the preferred method?

·
Registered
39 Posts
I'm not an expert but I trust Power commanders and I trust Rottweiler. What are these guys doing to fueling? Ignition advance? Throttle mapping?
If I need to remove a PC5 completely for some reason it's completely un-doable with no evidence that it was ever there. This is not the case with a hacked map load. And, as I said, there is a risk that the dealer wipes over it.
Also, if, in the future, you decide to change your system e.g. change slip-on, get a full system, etc. you can load a new map. If you move to a different elevation, you can get it remapped. If you really want, you can have a custom map done.
You can have two maps loaded and switch between them on the fly.

An ECU reflash is just as illegal as a Power Commander regarding emissions in states where such things are issues.

·
Registered
114 Posts
For me the best takeaway is there is potentially more power lurking in there if you don't worry about the Euro 5 emissions compliance. The gains look significant and it looks like there is a nice bit of smoothing going on. The extra RPM up top could be handy at times. So if Openflash can do it, I would hope Rottweiler can as well.

·
Registered
2020 790 Duke
271 Posts