KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!

Being an all season rider I have to endure some rain and road salt.
Having owned my 790 for 2 years now it had developed some surface rust which became a real eyesore. So I decided to try and deal with it today Would love to hear any tips and tricks to get my headers back to looking like new!

I used "Pro-Green MX" rust remover (found at my local dealership)

BEFORE:

AFTER:

After the treatment I used a bunch of ACF-50 and let it soak in. I dont know how long ACF-50 lasts on hot exhausts (its already burned off) but I heard it has a chemical reaction with the metal to help prevent corrosion.

Would love to hear more experienced peoples advice on getting my headers back shining. (i'm a total novice)

Cheers,
John

·
Registered
2020 KTM Duke, '72 Norton Commando, '62 BSA C-15, '82 Suzuki PE 175
135 Posts
I have a bunch of older bikes and I've found that if I clean the chrome with chrome polish, like Turtle Wax, and then use a pad made from kitchen wrap aluminum foil to rub down the surface rust that it really helps.
It's not so much the abrasion but a chemical reaction between the warmth from friction and the aluminum. Try it.
Bottoms Up!

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Hey all!

Being an all season rider I have to endure some rain and road salt.
Having owned my 790 for 2 years now it had developed some surface rust which became a real eyesore. So I decided to try and deal with it today Would love to hear any tips and tricks to get my headers back to looking like new!

I used "Pro-Green MX" rust remover (found at my local dealership)

View attachment 4939

BEFORE:
View attachment 4940

AFTER:

View attachment 4941

After the treatment I used a bunch of ACF-50 and let it soak in. I dont know how long ACF-50 lasts on hot exhausts (its already burned off) but I heard it has a chemical reaction with the metal to help prevent corrosion.