KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
VIP member
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I spent the day at my old stomping grounds at a Willow Springs’ Big Track. The 10+ years since I was last there have not been kind to it. Although fairly recently sealed, the surface has gotten quite bumpy. Still, it was good to relive some old memories and create new ones, like following Casey Stoner and Ben Spies around for a lap. I wish I could say it was because I’m super fast, but it was because they were on virgin slicks and were being very cautious on their out lap. Still, it was quite cool.

I’m still learning about the WP fork and shock, but I continue to be impressed with how they improve the 790. The wallowing that the stock suspension occasionally did at track speeds has been eliminated, but at times, I felt my settings were too stiff for Willow’s bumpiness. Clearly I need more time to dial them in. I think the WP upgrades are pretty dang good if you plan on spending more than a little time on the track, though.

Attachments

·
Super-Moderator
'20 890R
448 Posts
I heard that Ben and Casey were on a couple R1's doing a TD today but didn't know it was at Willow - very cool experience indeed! Did ya get a chance to chat with them? Were there Yamaha staff around or literally 2 guys and a Van just messing about? Enquiring minds want to know! LOLOL...

·
VIP member
418 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I heard that Ben and Casey were on a couple R1's doing a TD today but didn't know it was at Willow - very cool experience indeed! Did ya get a chance to chat with them? Were there Yamaha staff around or literally 2 guys and a Van just messing about? Enquiring minds want to know! LOLOL...
It was an Alpinestars sponsored track day. So, several OEMs were there. Yamaha, Honda, Aprilia, Ducati, and even Indian had Bikes there. Lots of people who were new to track riding also took advantage of Yamaha Champions Riding School giving free training.