KTM 790 Duke Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I finally got my Nitron shock and attended my 1st track day of the year on my 790. Met up with a guy that was pitted 2 spots down from me that
had an 890. We were the only orange out there. I told him I would try and get some GoPro video, while trying to keep up from behind and the result is the Youtube vid below. Sorry about the wind noise and quality, but I am a Gopro rookie. Be kind.

His was stock, with the exception of an Akra can, I believe. Mine is modded with the major bits being a decat and ChiCom can, PCV mapped by Rotty, Andreani, Nitron, HH pads and Brembo M/C. He was running the stock Mich with warmers and I was on S22 at 30F 28R cold. (Thanks Young Lion) Rear wear pic below.

It was our 2nd session of the day. I waited a couple laps to get some heat in the tires and got by him on a corner exit (T12) under power, We were both older gents and had a blast out there. We weren't the fastest, but definitely not the slowest, in our group. He was a former racer, as am I, so it was a pretty even match. Highest indicated speed in a later session, for me anyway, was 123 and that was 5th gear topped out with a 15T front sprocket. No room to get 6th. Some serious braking commenced right after..

2.1 mile track with 15 turns. They call it the Autobahn Country Club, just SW of Chicago in Joliet, IL. Instead of golf, it's 2 race tracks, that can
be combined into 1 that's 3.5 miles, and a kart track. You can join, build or rent a garage on the property to store your toys, and go and hot lap whenever you get the urge.
Lot's of exotic, high dollar street cars and race cars on the property. No way I could ever afford to join, but it's a cool concept I was there for the day with Sport Bike Track Time,
(Track layout below)

I am very happy with the way it handled, considering the track had some rough patches. My 1st time on the track with the Bridgestones and they stuck very well.