KTM 790 Duke Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. Got a question.

I’m currently trying to secure an 890 with my local KTM dealer but I have a few questions I’d like to ask before I actually pull the trigger when one finally arrives. I won’t have the opportunity to ride on one, let alone sit on one, as dealerships here in Canada are closed due to Covid. Pick-up and curbside delivery only.

As for me, I’m a noob as I haven’t ridden a motorbike in about 15 years. I’ve had five previous bikes, last being an R1. I had an R6 before that and another R6 before that (which I wrote off). My first sportbike was a CBR 600 and had an RM-80 when I was a kid. I also did several track-days on my 6’s.

I guess I’ll just get to the point. Based on my riding experience and never having ridden a naked, do you think the 890R will be enough bike for me, power-wise? I’m quite sure I’m done with race bikes as I’m older now and want something more comfortable, yet I still want something that’s agile and has lots of torque. The raised handlebars and upright seating position look attractive but knowing me I’ll definitely want to want to lay this bike down and drag my knees when given the opportunity.

Will the 890 be a nice compromise between race bike and comfort? I'll be buying this bike without ever seeing or riding it so that is why I am asking. Any comments from riders with similar backgrounds would esp be appreciated. I'll also be riding this bike all summer until I find a suitable car, so any reviews on the Michelin Power Cup 2 tyres are welcome.

·
Super-Moderator
'20 890R
431 Posts
1. Welcome to the site!
2. Your profile say you are in the US but your post says you are buying from a Canadian dealer? Where are you exactly?
3. Yes - the 890 is everything you hope it will be and then some.