ACC1 and ACC2 front and rear - 2018 KTM 790 Duke Forum
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-15-2020, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7
ACC1 and ACC2 front and rear

Looking through the manual I found these power supplies. ACC1 and ACC2 front and rear. Are these for powering accessories like a radar detector? Could you also run a trickle charger through these?
Stewart is offline  
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-15-2020, 10:16 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 27
Stewart-

Yes. One is always hot (ACC 1) and the other (ACC 2) is only hot when ignition is on. Both are 10 A.

Trickle charger would go direct to the batttery.
AZMotorgod is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 12:05 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
I thought ACC1 was only 1A and ACC2 (switched) 10A?
genxrider is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 12:26 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 27
I guess that use to be the case, but according to the 790 owners manual (pg. 201) both fuses are 10 A.
AZMotorgod is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 12:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Geoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Coromandel, New Zealand
Posts: 256
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart View Post
Looking through the manual I found these power supplies. ACC1 and ACC2 front and rear. Are these for powering accessories like a radar detector? Could you also run a trickle charger through these?
Yep, I run my TomTom GPS through the switched circuit. Photo attached. Decided not to bother fitting my radar detector and it sits unloved in the shed!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1448.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	185.1 KB
ID:	3762  
Geoff is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 01:56 AM
Road to Victory
 
barbagris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: On the edge of insanity.
Posts: 702
Garage
I would be really wary of wiring much to ACC1. The battery is not that big. Leave anything on by accident and it will drain to "will not start" levels pretty fast.

I'm designing a small circuit to use the ACC1 only when ACC2 is active. Basically a timer relay. Just trying to find a circuit that only goes live when the engine is running (not just ignition on). But it will stall draw 4mA - and that is not what I wanted. Thinking.

Small steps - Day by Day.
barbagris is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 11:33 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7
Thanks everyone, super imformative. I'm looking forward to getting my 790 soon and posting more. Great resource. Thanks again.
Stewart is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 12:05 PM
Road to Victory
 
barbagris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: On the edge of insanity.
Posts: 702
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff View Post
Yep, I run my TomTom GPS through the switched circuit. Photo attached. Decided not to bother fitting my radar detector and it sits unloved in the shed!
Mate - only just seen the photo - Those terminals look very open to failing or shorting. At least from the photo. Just a heads up.

Small steps - Day by Day.
barbagris is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Geoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Coromandel, New Zealand
Posts: 256
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbagris View Post
Mate - only just seen the photo - Those terminals look very open to failing or shorting. At least from the photo. Just a heads up.
You'll not have noticed then that the cable runs outside the headlight assembly. Just a test to ensure that everything works before properly completing the job. The photo is just indicative for where the connectors are.
barbagris likes this.
Geoff is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2020, 02:40 PM
VIP Member
 
EvansB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbagris View Post
I would be really wary of wiring much to ACC1. The battery is not that big. Leave anything on by accident and it will drain to "will not start" levels pretty fast.

I'm designing a small circuit to use the ACC1 only when ACC2 is active. Basically a timer relay. Just trying to find a circuit that only goes live when the engine is running (not just ignition on). But it will stall draw 4mA - and that is not what I wanted. Thinking.
I can vouch for this issue. When I installed the PP heated grips, I moved the USB adapter to ACC1. After a spate of bad weather, I went out to ride my 790 and found the battery dead after only about 10 days! I decided to pull the USB off since I only used it when touring.
EvansB2 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOW TO: Add power outlets dma 790 Duke 'How-to' 3 08-23-2019 05:14 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome